Rebecca Long-Bailey
Rebecca Long-Bailey

Rebecca Long-Bailey

MP for Salford and Eccles

Rebecca’s Candidate Statement

“Like all Labour members, I am devastated we lost the election. After a decade of Conservative government we face entrenched inequality, 4 million children growing up in poverty, a climate emergency and an emboldened far right.

We had a chance to help turn back the tide, but we failed. The starting point in the leadership election is to be honest and self-critical about why and then look forward and forge our path to power.

We lost trust with voters – over Brexit, over antisemitism, over a lack of unity in our party and because we failed to set out a convincing narrative for what we would do in government.

We have to learn the lessons of this but we can’t despair. We have another round of elections in May and the escalating crises we face mean that building a winning vision of a socialist future has never been so urgent.

My vision is one of a democratic, aspirational and decarbonised society that hands wealth and power back to ordinary people. I believe we can build a green, democratic future that bridges the deep divides in our electoral coalition.

But we must democratise our party and we must embrace radical democratic reform in the country, taking power out of Westminster. In the words of the great Nye Bevan: “the purpose of getting power is to be able to give it away.”

This is my ambition – an aspirational, socialist, democratic future that can unite the country and build our path back to power.”

Rebecca Long-Bailey was nominated by the following MPs and MEPs

  • Diane Abbott
  • Tahir Ali
  • Paula Barker
  • Apsana Begum
  • Olivia Blake
  • Richard Burgon
  • Ian Byrne
  • Dan Carden
  • Peter Dowd
  • Mary Foy
  • Barry Gardiner
  • Margaret Greenwood
  • Rachel Hopkins
  • Imran Hussain
  • Kim Johnson
  • Ian Lavery
  • Rebecca Long-Bailey
  • Andy McDonald
  • John McDonnell
  • Ian Mearns
  • Navendu Mishra
  • Grahame Morris
  • Kate Osborne
  • Angela Rayner
  • Bell Ribeiro-Addy
  • Lloyd Russell-Moyle
  • Cat Smith
  • Zarah Sultana
  • Sam Tarry
  • Jon Trickett
  • Claudia Webbe
  • Mick Whitley
  • Beth Winter
Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search