Keir Starmer
Keir Starmer

Keir Starmer

MP for Holborn and St Pancras

Keir’s Candidate Statement

“I’ve spent my life fighting for justice, standing up for the powerless and against the powerful.

I’m now standing to be leader of the Labour Party because I believe I can help unite our movement, take on the Tories and build a better future.

When Labour is united, we can achieve anything.

The NHS, the minimum wage, the Equal Pay Act, peace in Northern Ireland: impossible dreams made possible by Labour governments.

We now need to provide an effective opposition to Boris Johnson.

We need to start winning elections again – starting with the local elections in May, building to 2024.

We won’t do that by abandoning our values or the radicalism we have rediscovered.

We are an anti-austerity party. We believe in common ownership. We want to build a more peaceful world through a human-rights based foreign policy. We must hardwire the Green New Deal into every part of our politics.

Those are the pillars on which we can build a radical agenda for the future.

Inequalities of every type – power, education, health and wealth – are now so ingrained that only a fundamental shift can address them.

Our task is to make that agenda relevant to the 2020s and 2030s: to deliver economic justice, social justice and climate justice.

That is a huge task.

This leadership contest can only be one part of it.

With your help and with all parts of the labour and trade union movement coming together, I believe we can win again. Another future is possible.”

Keir Starmer was nominated by the following MPs and MEPs

  • Debbie Abrahams
  • Rushanara Ali
  • Mike Amesbury
  • Fleur Anderson
  • Margaret Beckett
  • Hilary Benn
  • Clive Betts
  • Paul Blomfield
  • Tracy Brabin
  • Ben Bradshaw
  • Nicholas Brown
  • Karen Buck
  • Alan Campbell
  • Bambos Charalambous
  • Yvette Cooper
  • Richard Corbett
  • Judith Cummins
  • Alex Cunningham
  • Janet Daby
  • Wayne David
  • Geraint Davies
  • Thangam Debbonaire
  • Marsha de Cordova
  • Anneliese Dodds
  • Stephen Doughty
  • Maria Eagle
  • Angela Eagle
  • Clive Efford
  • Chris Elmore
  • Flo Eshalomi
  • Bill Esterson
  • Chris Evans
  • Neena Gill
  • Preet Gill
  • Mary Glindon
  • Theresa Griffin
  • Andrew Gwynne
  • Emma Hardy
  • Carolyn Harris
  • Helen Hayes
  • John Healey
  • Mike Hill
  • Kate Hollern
  • George Howarth
  • Rupa Huq
  • Diana Johnson
  • Sarah Jones
  • Jackie Jones
  • Kevan Jones
  • Barbara Keeley
  • David Lammy
  • Seema Malhotra
  • Chris Matheson
  • Steve McCabe
  • Kerry McCarthy
  • Conor McGinn
  • Jim McMahon
  • Anna McMorrin
  • Ed Miliband
  • Claude Moraes
  • Jessica Morden
  • Stephen Morgan
  • Rory Palmer
  • Matthew Pennycook
  • Toby Perkins
  • Bridget Phillipson
  • Luke Pollard
  • Steve Reed
  • Christina Rees
  • Ellie Reeves
  • Jonathan Reynolds
  • Marie Rimmer
  • Virendra Sharma
  • Barry Sheerman
  • Tulip Siddiq
  • Andrew Slaughter
  • Nick Smith
  • Jeff Smith
  • Karin Smyth
  • Jo Stevens
  • Mark Tami
  • Nick Thomas-Symonds
  • Stephen Timms
  • Karl Turner
  • Valerie Vaz
  • Alan Whitehead
  • Mohammad Yasin
  • Daniel Zeichner

Keir was also nominated by the Trade Union UNISON.

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search